Useful links for the stressed writer!

I’m extremely busy at the moment, working on my own stories, editing my own work, editing friends’ work and studying for upcoming tests… but what I’m doing in between all of this is a ridiculous amount of research about the writing world. Since I came across so many great sites during my adventures, I thought it might be good to share them with you, since you might find them useful, too!small

Clever Girl Helps – For all your reference help and advice! Possibly the easiest and most comprehensive tumblr writing blog I’ve ever found. You can ask things, but you’ll probably find all of your answers somewhere in their tags. I think I’m writing most of my novel thanks to this blog.

Cathy’s Comps and Calls – I’m poor and not really earning any money right now, so finding writing contests worth my while that don’t require an entry fee is tedious work. Thankfully, this wonderful person compiles writing competitions and calls for submissions by deadline–and they’re all free!

Tip of my Tongue – You’ve probably heard of this one already, but it’s great to have when you can think of the definition but are having a hard time coming up with the actual word.

Writing With Color – I literally just found this a few hours ago, but it’s a great blog for advice writing characters of color. In my opinion, no matter what your character’s ethnicity is, you should really read at least a few of their posts. They’re great.

Writing Contests – Another well-organized list of contests that you can filter through tags according to what you’re looking for!

The Review Review – Okay, so I haven’t had the time to go through everything, but the two articles I did read are extremely useful to me when it comes to submitting work to literary magazines and trying to understand what editors are looking for.

Have you discovered any other great sites lately that might help us tackle the challenges of the writing life? Please share them with the rest of us in the comments!


*and do I know why there’s a rat on that pile of books? No, I don’t, but I suppose he’s an intellectual rat.

Leave a Reply

